David Moscovich, author of “Blink If You Love Me”

In Your Next Beach Read, we want to introduce you to a new author every day in June in the hopes that you’ll find the next book you want to take with you to the beach, the pool, or the comforts of air conditioning.

Today’s author is David Moscovich, author of Blink If You Love Me.

What’s your name (or pen name) and where are you from?

David Vlad Moscovich is my real name and through a series of strange and unexpected events my pen name is David Moscovich. I was born in a Boston blizzard to Romanian immigrants who escaped anti-Semitism. Now I live between New York City and Portugal, which is the setting for my new book.

How long have you been writing? How did you start?

12 - David Moscovich author photoSince the age of 12 it’s been an ongoing problem — I haven’t been able to shake free of writing since then. It started because my father got me an Olympia typewriter and I learned how to type — then I was hooked on letters, which is probably worse than marshmallows.

Who are some of your influences?

For this book it’s Duchamp, Manzoni, Stein, Flaubert, Federman, Agustina Bessa-Luis, Lydia Davis, Lydia Davis, and Lydia Davis.

What is your book about?

Set in modern-day Portugal, Blink if You Love Me is an entertaining romp in the private life of an individualistic American who marries into a large Portuguese family. Struggling with his adopted tongue, the narrator of the novel is cursed with a tendency to imbue everyday speech with innuendo. The novel is written as a diary replete with ridiculous, unintended consequences.

Be sure to wear some high-powered sunblock when reading.

Where did you get the idea?

The idea for Blink if You Love Me came out of research over the course of several years in Portugal, and from the stories that people tell constantly, voluminously, and in great detail.

How long did it take you to finish it?

The time it took to drink two or three shots of tawny Port – it takes me a year to drink one, and the publisher helped me gulp the final glass over edits. I’m working on a continuation of the story in a sequel right now.

Is this your first book, or have you written more than one?

This is my third novel. My first book was You Are Make Very Important Bathtime (JEF, 2013), a comedy about an American in Japan whose makes every possible mistake. My second book is a novel called LIFE+70[Redacted] (Lit Fest Press, 2016). It’s about a single copy $249,999 e-book which was hacked.

We all like to write about people we know, even if we never name them. Who are some people who inspired characters or situations?

Yes, which is why all of my friends are 2-D and made from ink and wood pulp.

What’s your favorite scene in the book?

12 - David Moscovich book coverThere are so many; I’d say it’s clear a seventeen-way tie between Near Death Experience with Sardines, The Fisherwoman and the Seagull, Ribeira Story, The Mosquitos, The Newspaper Droolers, The Case of the Panty-Kisser, When to Poo, Dia de Camões, The Kamikaze Kiss, More Underwear Problems, Showers in Sickness and Health, Grandma and Gogol, Revenge of the Towels, Mystery of the Washing Machine, Doggie at the MAAT, Eva’s Nightmare and Algarve Casino Zombies.

What’s the best piece of writing advice you ever got?

Never give writing advice.

What’s the worst?

The worst piece of advice I’ve ever heard was “write from your cock.” Also bad was when someone advised me to eat sashimi over hot rice before an international flight.

Where can we buy your book?

You could come to the next signing at the Feira do Livro in Lisbon (book launch Tuesday, June 11, fair open until June 18) and I’d recommend your local independent bookstore or indiebound.org but you can also find them through the usual suspects.

David Moscovich is the Romanian-American author of You Are Make Very Important Bathtime (JEF Books, 2013) and LIFE+70[Redacted], a print version of the single most expensive literary e-book to ever be hacked (Lit Fest Press, 2016.) Blink If You Love Me is his latest novel, published by Adelaide Books in 2019.

You Are Make Very Important Bathtime (JEF Books: Chicago, 2013) is a novel of flash fictions about a Westerner’s failure to navigate Japanese culture clash, a celebration of the beauty of misunderstanding and the inadvertent poetry of bad grammar. LIFE+70[Redacted], published by Lit Fest Press in 2016, is the printed version of the single most expensive literary e-book ever to be hacked. Before it was stolen, the one and only e-book was priced at US$249,999.99. 

Recipient of fellowships from New York University, International House New York and sponsorship from the New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA), he holds an MFA in Fiction from NYU and is editor and publisher of Louffa Press, a micro-press dedicated to printing innovative fiction in collectible, handprinted chapbooks as well as artist books. 

Moscovich is a writer and freelance journalist and lives in New York City and Portugal.

One thought on “David Moscovich, author of “Blink If You Love Me”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s